BISA Emotions in Politics and IR Working Group launch a best book award – submit your nomination now

The BISA Emotions in Politics and International Relations Working Group is delighted to announce the introduction of an annual book award.
One prize for the best book published in the field of emotion studies, broadly understood, will be awarded at the working group’s business meeting at the BISA Annual Conference in Newcastle in June 2020.
The award is intended to recognise a book that excels in originality, significance and rigour in the broadly defined field of emotions in Politics and International Relations.
There will be a prize of a £100 voucher for the winner.

General Information

The following criteria must be met:
  1. The recipient of the award must be a current member of BISA
  2. Books eligible for the award must fall into the broadly defined category of emotions in Politics and International Relations
  3. Eligible books can be either single or multi-authored
  4. Authors can self-nominate if they wish
  5. To be considered for the 2020 prize, books must be published in either 2018 or 2019.

Nomination process

  • If you have published a book that falls within the time frame and the relevant subject matter category, and you (or your publishers/press) would like it considered for the prize, please send one copy of the book to each of the committee members (see below for details)
  • Please include a brief statement (300 words) explaining how the book provides an original contribution to the field of emotions in a rigorous and significant fashion
  • Please send a copy of your statement, and confirmation that you have sent out copies of the book, to the Chair of our award committee, Simon Koschut: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., with the working group's email address in copy: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. This means we can let you know if your book doesn’t arrive.
Books nominated for the 2020 award must be submitted to the Chair of the Selection Committee by 1 February 2020.

Selection process

  • All nominated books will be considered by the Selection Committee
  • The recipient will be announced at the working group business meeting held during each BISA Annual Conference.

Selection Committee Members

1. Simon Koschut (Freie Universität, Berlin)
PD Dr. Simon Koschut
DFG Heisenberg Fellow
Otto Suhr Institute for Political Science
Freie Universität Berlin
Ihnestr. 22 
14195 Berlin
2. Dr Gemma Bird (Liverpool University, UK)
Department of Politics, 
8-11 Abercromby Square,
University of Liverpool,
L69 7WZ
3. Dr Sarah Tafakori (LSE, UK)
Department of Media and Communications (Visiting Academics), 
London School of Economics
Houghton St
London WC2A 2AE
We look forward to receiving your nominations! 
British International Studies Association


Charity No:1151260
Company no: 8422260
Registered office: University Of Birmingham Room 650, 6th Floor, Muirhead Tower, Edgbaston, Birmingham, England, B15 2TT